MLK Labor Endorses 33 Additional Candidates

June 17, 2021

MLK Labor Delegates voted at their June 16th Delegates Meeting to endorse more than 30 candidates for local office in Seattle and across South King County. The full list of endorsed candidates can be found below.

“The Labor Council is proud to announce of endorsement of dozens of pro-worker candidates across Seattle and South King County, each of whom would fight to improve the lives of working families in our community. Receiving the labor endorsement means you answered questions directly from rank-and-file union members and earned the support of our movement,” said Nicole Grant, Executive Secretary-Treasurer of MLK Labor.

“We’re especially excited for the 15 union members who received an endorsement. We need more rank-and-file union members in public office because they understand the challenges that working people face and will fight for what we need. The working class is ready to mobilize in 2021 to win a better King County.”

All endorsed candidates were required to complete a questionnaire and attend an interview with a panel of union members from various unions. Endorsements require a 2/3 majority of support in the Executive Board and Delegate Body, representing more than 150 King County Unions.


Nikkita Oliver, Seattle City Council Position 9

King County

Rod Dembowski for King County Council District 1

Sarah Perry for King County Council District 3

Dave Upthegrove for King County Council District 5

Dustin Lambro, King County Hospital District 1 Commissioner District 2

Monique Taylor-Swan, King County Hospital District 1 Commissioner District 4

Dual – Chris Franco and Kim-Khanh Van, King County Council District 9

Best Starts for Kids Levy

Port of Seattle

Ryan Calkins, Port of Seattle Commissioner Position 1

Toshiko Hasegawa, Port of Seattle Commissioner Position 4


Joseph Todd, Renton City Council Position 1

Carmen Rivera, Renton City Council Position 2


Dawn Bennett, Kent Mayor

Satwinder Kaur, Kent City Council Position 2

Clifford Cawthon, Kent City Council Position 4


Hugo Garcia, Burien City Council Position 1

Jimmy Matta, Burien City Council Position 3

Sarah Moore, Burien City Council Position 5

Krystal Marx, Burien City Council Position 7


Jake Simpson, SeaTac City Council Position 2

Mohamed Egal, SeaTac City Council Position 4

Iris Guzman, SeaTac City Council Position 6


Larry Brown, Auburn City Council Position 6


Tosh Sharp, Tukwila City Council Position 1

De’Sean Quinn, Tukwila City Council Position 7

Federal Way

Jim Ferrell, Federal Way Mayor.

Gregory Baruso, Federal Way City Council Position 2

Katherine Festa, Federal Way City Council Position 4

Leandra Craft, Federal Way City Council Position 5

Martin Moore, Federal Way City Council Position 6

Des Moines

Harry Steinmetz, Des Moines City Council Position 1

Traci Buxton, Des Moines City Council Position 5

Soleil Lewis, Des Moines City Council Position 7

Early Endorsements

Lorena Gonzalez, Seattle Mayor

Teresa Mosqueda, Seattle City Council Position 8

Dow Constantine, King County Executive

Pete Holmes, Seattle City Attorney

Support Request Form

Need help? Whether you need technical assistance using the site or require language support to apply for jobs, you can use this form to submit a support request and someone from our team will follow up.

Please note that you may be asked to provide additional information to assess your eligibility for job application assistance and other support.