MLK Labor Celebrates 130th Anniversary

February 27, 2016

MLK Labor Celebrates 130th Anniversary at Labor Oscars

John Scearcy of Teamsters Local 117 accepts the award for Best Principal Officer

On February 24, workers as well as well as labor, business, and political leaders came together to celebrate the history of workers in King County, and recognize labor leaders in our community.

The “Labor Oscars” awards gala celebrated the MLKCLC’s 130th anniversary and was held at the Museum of History and Industry on Saturday, February 24.

“If there is anything we’ve learned over the past 130 years, it’s that when workers stand together and fight for better working conditions, there is nothing we cannot achieve,” said MLKCLC Executive Secretary-Treasurer Nicole Grant. “Labor Oscars was an opportunity for the labor community to honor our past and celebrate the great work being done to improve the lives of working people.”

Thank you to everyone that helped make Labor Oscars a success and for your continued support of the MLKCLC.

“Labor Oscars” were presented for 25 categories. The full list of winners is below:

Full List of Oscar Winners:

  • Ally of the Year: Organized Workers for Labor Solidarity
  • Best Rally: The Right-to-Work Rally at the State Capitol organized primarily by Ironworkers 86 and Sheet Metal Workers 66.
  • Best Reporter: Elisa Hahn – KING 5
  • Best Labor Lawyer: Dmitri Iglitzin – Schwerin Campbell Barnard Iglitzin & Lavitt
  • Educator of the Year: Michael Tamayo – Seattle elementary school teacher and vice president of the Seattle Education Association and Rosa Powers – Garfield High School teacher.
  • Best Faith Ally: Michael Ramos – Executive Director of the Church Council of Greater Seattle.
  • Best Civil Rights Organization: The Ingersoll Gender Center for supporting trans workers including leading the conversation on apprenticeships.
  • Best Union Communications: The Stand – the daily union newsletter published by David Groves of the Washington State Labor Council.
  • Best Labor-Friendly Small Business: Plum Restaurants – a woman-of-color-owned vegan restaurant chain that has supported progressive worker legislation like high wages and paid sick days.
  • Best Union Construction Company: Hoffman Construction
  • Labor’s Worst Person of the Year: Donald Trump
  • Best Social Media Drag: Lindsey Grad of SEIU Healthcare 1199NW for calling out a sexual harasser on Facebook.
  • Best Union Tattoo: Clint Bryson IBEW 77
  • Best Organizing Campaign: Teamsters 117 for successful organizing of paratransit, taxi cab, and app-based drivers.
  • Best Non-Profit Organization: The Puget Sound Labor Agency
  • Best Political Consulting Firm: Christian Sinderman and Erin Schultz of Northwest Passage for their work on Teresa Mosqueda’s successful city council campaign.
  • Best Elected Official: Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal
  • Best Political Director or Lobbyist: Dale Bright – Laborers Local 242
  • Best Political Campaign: The Burien Fantastic Four – consisting of Pedro Olguin, member of Teamsters 117, Jimmy Matta, member of Carpenters 41, Krystal Marx, and Nancy Tosta and ran by Guillermo Mogollan-Diego.
  • Volunteer of the Year: Theresa Purtell of IAFF 27 for personally calling every firefighter in Seattle City limits up until election day reminding them to vote for Jenny Durkan and Teresa Mosqueda.
  • Best Strike: Teamsters 174 – for the strike at CalPortland Sand and Gravel Seattle, which maximized leverage and achieved major wins for those workers and the First Student Bus Driver strike in Seattle earlier this month, which won drivers expanded health care benefits for themselves and their families.
  • Shop Steward of the Year: JR Herrington – Carpenters Local 30
  • Best Overall Union: IAM 751 – for great leadership in tough times, bold political action, support of the entire labor movement, and devotion to our community.
  • Best Principal Officer: John Scearcy – of Teamsters 117 for his principled and strategic leadership of the Uber and Lyft organizing campaign, the unity in his diverse ranks, his intentional decision to hire staff from immigrant communities and communities of color, and constantly working his ass off for his members.
  • Nancy Rising Lifetime Achievement Award: Larry Brown – IAM 751

Support Request Form

Need help? Whether you need technical assistance using the site or require language support to apply for jobs, you can use this form to submit a support request and someone from our team will follow up.

Please note that you may be asked to provide additional information to assess your eligibility for job application assistance and other support.